Meet the Des Moines City Council

Who are the members of the Des Moines City Council?

Des Moines is the capital city of Iowa and is home to over 200,000 residents. The city is governed by the Des Moines City Council, which is responsible for setting policies and regulations that govern the city. The council is made up of seven members, including the mayor and six council members. Here we will take a closer look at who is on the Des Moines City Council.

Mayor of Des Moines

  • T.M. Franklin Cownie

Council Members At Large

  • Carl Voss 
  • Connie Boesen

Ward 1: Indira Sheumaker

Ward 2: Linda Westergaard

Ward 3: Josh Mandelbaum

Ward 4: Joe Gatto

Mayor Frank Cownie

T.M. Franklin Cowie has served as the Des Moines mayor since 2004. He grew up in the city, attending Theodore Roosevelt High School and Iowa State University. In addition to serving as the city’s mayor, Cowie also owns and operates Cownie Furs, a shop that has been in his family for generations. Before being elected as mayor, he served as an at-large member of the city council.

At-Large Council Members

The Des Moines City Council has two at-large council members who represent the entire city. The current at-large council members are Carl Voss and Connie Boesen. Boesen has been serving on the council since 2016 and is focused on improving economic development and creating job opportunities for residents. Voss won in a runoff election in December 2019.

Ward Council Members

In addition to the at-large council members, the Des Moines City Council also has four council members who represent specific wards within the city. The current ward council members are:

  • Ward 1 Council Member Indira Sheumaker: Sheumaker has been serving on the council since 2021 and she is the youngest member of the city council.
  • Ward 2 Council Member Linda Westergaard: Westergaard was elected to the council in 2018.
  • Ward 3 Council Member Josh Mandelbaum: Mandelbaum has been serving on the council since 2020 and has recently announced a bid for Des Moines mayor.
  • Ward 4 Council Member Joe Gatto: Gatto has been serving on the council since 2015.


The Des Moines City Council meeting happen every other Monday at 5pm at City Hall, Council Chambers, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive, 2nd Floor, Des Moines, IA 50309. If you want to attend a meeting or learn more, visit